Week 2 Readings

Flirtatious Women In the Work Force:

Who would have thought that women would use their “God -given assets” to get ahead in the business world? Me for one.  I am not saying that I have done or even considered using flirtation as a way of moving up in the corporate world, but it definitely did not surprise that many have.  However, what did surprise was that those who had used some kind of sexual behavior actually did not receive as many promotions or earn as much money as those who have moved up the corporate ladder based solely on merit and hard work. 

Furthermore, the concept that “chivalry is ‘benevolent sexism’ that advances the stereotype that women are vulnerable and weak” I think is complete nonsense.  Since when is being a gentleman a threat to women’s role as leaders? If you ask me, it nice to actually see that there are a few people out that believe chivalry is not dead, and that it can be performed in the workplace.  Who can say for certain what is considered sexual behavior and just playful banter between co-workers?  For me the line is not clearly drawn in the sand and nor do I think it ever will be.

Women Feel Free to Be Women:

This article had a similar tone to the prior article.  One new stance I have formulated from this article is that I agree that some kind of femininity should be brought into the workplace.  The well-tailored pant-suit is a thing of the past, with more conservative yet feminine skirts and business attire on the rise, why are people still so hesitant to embrace what is happening so naturally?

A generation gap is a natural response to both women and mens’ unpleasant reaction to feminine workplace fashion.  There is also the idea that it is a “betrayal of the feminist movement”.  Whatever the reason, the fact of the matter is that it is a non-stopable force and there are pros and cons.  In the article, a corporate lawyer says “People who are wealthy use their wealth.  People who are smart use their intelligence.  Why shouldn’t women use thier good looks or femininity?”  This brings into light a double standard that occurs everyday, but gets talked about very little.  As stated in the article men use their good looks and golf skills to move ahead, yet women using their femininity is a questionable act.  This is one topic is a discussion that could go on; I just wanted to state my opinion that everybody has some kind of advantage over another, whether it be good looks, experience, networking, or even golf skills, it is how you leverage what we have that gets us the thing we want in life. 

“Work Matters” by Bob Sutton

From a teachers perspective, the idea of being smart or dumb is something that i am extremely familiar with.  For years we are told by our peers “I’m smarter than you” or “You’re dumb”.  However, I have always been told and dealt with this situation as one in which we cannot really change the person but that we have to change what and how we teach them.  This concept that we can actually teach people that they can be “smarter” is something of a really? moment. 

changeable cognitive ability, although something I know little about, I feel is possible after reading this article.  Just the simple idea that convincing someone who “smarts come from what people do, not what they are born with” can improve not only someone perceptions of themselves but also their performance in academic and the professional world is a concept that should be taught to all children at a young age not just to stubborn professionals.  Overall, the article made me want to be more open to the idea that I can still learn more and be “smarter”.

Can Personality Be Changed?

I am not really sure what to think about this article.  I agree that personality is “flexible and dynamic” and that it is not solely “encoded in our genes and impossible to change”.  The examples of the sets of twins that shockingly had so much in common after being separated for years, I think is an unrealistic way to show proof of impossibility of personality changes.  I agree that it has to do a lot with our beliefs that help determine our personalities, and beliefs change over time. 

This idea I believes follows closely with the previous topic of constantly “being smarter”.  I agree that we do have the ability to start making new connections and changing our personalities through different experiences.  I know that I have changed personalities from when I was child, to being in middle and high, to even doing my undergraduate work.  This is because of the experiences I have had, and a willingness to be open minded and adapt my beliefs.  This is truly a fascinating topic, and one that I will probably continue to think about as I go through my graduate studies.

Leave a Reply

